07 Feb 2016

BRADFORD Bulls Head Coach, James Lowes was full of praise for Sunday’s hat-trick hero, Omari Caro.

Caro, who is sponsored by Jennifer Bennison, scored three tries as the Bulls beat Featherstone Rovers 22-12 in round one of the 2016 Kingstone Press Championship.

Lowes picked five debutants in the 17-man squad and was particularly impressed with Caro, who joined the club towards the end of 2015.

“We bought Caro for his finishing; his ability to put the ball down in tight positions,” said Lowes, who is sponsored by In Memory of Joyce Dobby.

“We brought him in at the end of last year to do exactly what he did on Sunday. He can finish really well and that is one of his main strengths.

“He’s got some other things to work on, but he certainly knows how to put the ball down.

“I’m pleased with all the boys, as well. They all showed what they are capable of.

“It is very pleasing to start the season with a win and it’s good to be playing rugby again.

“It is always nice to get your first win, but like I said last year after the opening game, this win won’t define what will happen for the rest of the year.

“We need to try and build consistency in our performances and we can do that off the back of a winning start.”

Read more


07 Feb 2016

BRADFORD Bulls kicked off their 2016 season in style as Jamaican winger, Omari Caro scored a hat-trick of tries in a 22-12 win over Featherstone Rovers. 

Caro, sponsored by Jennifer Bennison, was instrumental throughout the game as he grabbed two tries in the first period before securing the victory in the second half, as he completed his hat-trick.

Full match report - CLICK HERE.

Read more


07 Feb 2016

TWO-TIME Challenge Cup winner Richie Mathers will make his Bradford Bulls debut in today’s Kingstone Press Championship opener.

Mathers, who put pen to paper on a one-year deal with the club last month, is to line up at full-back for this afternoon’s round one battle with West Yorkshire rivals Featherstone Rovers.

Fellow newcomers Ben Kavanagh and Kurt Haggerty also feature in the starting 13, appearing at prop and second row respectively.

Johnny Walker makes his competitive debut from the bench, while James Clare, Adrian Purtell and Omari Caro make up the three-quarter line.

Scotland star Danny Addy partners Lee Gaskell in the halves, with Adam O’Brien, Adam Sidlow, Tom Olbison and Jay Pitts making up Head Coach James Lowes’ starting pack.

Interchanges Matty Blythe, Dale Ferguson and Epalahame Lauaki complete the selected 17.

Oscar Thomas and Alex Mellor have missed out on selection this week.

George Stokes will referee today’s game, which is proudly sponsored by ISC.

This afternoon’s starting line up:

34. – Richie Mathers – available for sponsorship

22. – James Clare – sponsored by Captain Hornblower, Papa Holmes and the Hornettes

3. – Adrian Purtell – sponsored by Brian Widdop

4. – Kris Welham – sponsored by Stuart Readyhough at Maclean and Company

2. – Omari Caro – sponsored by Jennifer Bennison

6. – Lee Gaskell – sponsored by Hudson Foster Financial Services

13. – Danny Addy – sponsored by Bear Boating

25. – Ben Kavanagh – sponsored by B.M.G. Leeds

9. – Adam O’Brien – sponsored by The Monro Family

10. – Adam Sidlow – sponsored by Gareth and Ruth Rider

11. – Tom Olbison – sponsored by C & K Wood

28. – Kurt Haggerty – sponsored by Alexis Ridler

14. – Jay Pitts – sponsored by John Fountain


15. – Matty Blythe – sponsored by Smith Harrison Sampling

27. – Johnny Walker – sponsored by Double D Renovations

12. – Dale Ferguson – sponsored by In Memory of Helen Butterworth

21. – Epalahame Lauaki – sponsored by Vision On

Read more


06 Feb 2016

BRADFORD Bulls can announce the full list of squad numbers for the 2016 Kingstone Press Championship.

Throughout the week, the players’ squad numbers have been released and after the final numbers were announced today, the full list can be unveiled.

New signing, Oscar Thomas, has been given squad number one, whilst fellow new recruit, Kris Welham, takes number four.

Mitch Clark takes 20, Ben Kavanagh claims 25, Johnny Walker gets 27 and Kurt Haggerty will wear 28.

Academy graduates, Ethan Ryan and Joe Lumb, have been given squad numbers 29 and 30, respectively.

Full list of squad numbers for 2016 season:

1 – Oscar Thomas

2 – Omari Caro

3 – Adrian Purtell

4 – Kris Welham

5 – Danny Williams

6 – Lee Gaskell

8 – Paul Clough

9 – Adam O’Brien

10 – Adam Sidlow

11 – Tom Olbison

12 – Dale Ferguson

13 – Danny Addy

14 – Jay Pitts

15 – Matty Blythe

16 – Dan Fleming

17 – Jean-Philippe Baile

19 – Steve Crossley

20 – Mitch Clark

21 – Epalahame Lauaki

22 – James Clare

23 – Alex Mellor

24 – Lucas Walshaw

25 – Ben Kavanagh

26 – Vila Halafihi

27 – Johnny Walker

28 – Kurt Haggerty

29 – Ethan Ryan

30 – Joe Lumb

31 – James Mendeika

32 – Jonny Campbell

33 – Etu Uaisele

34 – Richie Mathers

Read more


05 Feb 2016

TOMORROW sees Bradford Bulls get their 2016 Kingstone Press Championship underway with a home tie against Featherstone Rovers.

The Bulls, unlike last season, start the year at the Provident Stadium as they welcome Featherstone to Odsal.

It has been another long off-season and Head Coach, James Lowes, who is sponsored by In Memory of Joyce Dobby, cannot wait for the season to kick off.

“I’m very excited and can’t wait for tomorrow to finally get the season underway.

“Featherstone are a good side and will give us a good test.

“They’ve changed their squad by bringing in a few players and letting a few go. They also have a new Head Coach, who has had a full pre-season with them.

“Sunday will be a competitive encounter which we’re very much looking forward to. It'll be great to play at home in front of our brilliant fans, who are a huge part of this club.

“It would be nice to get off to a winning start with a good performance, but if we win or lose tomorrow the result won’t define our season.”

You can still buy tickets ahead of Sunday’s clash by visiting the Team Shop today, open until 5pm.

Read more